70821 – Emmet and Benny’s ‘Build and Fix’ Workshop!

box art

I guess the exclamation mark is a valid part of the set name when talking about Emmet and Benny – they are notoriously upbeat. I snaffled this deeply discounted at my local toy store before the plague closed it.

Enlight788This is a “4+” set (used to be called “Junior”) indicating an easy build, probably with some POOP.  That is the case. There’s one of those giant bricks with four axle pins for the car chassis and this 43979 thing for the basis of Benny’s spaceship. I guess it could also be the prow of a boat, but outside of this set it only turns up as a couple of Star Wars craft.

I didn’t care enough to build the car, it was the Classic Space logo along with the blue and trans yellow that caused me to pick the set up.

seatI’m sure I’ve discussed before the 4598 Space Seat – needed to accommodate the space-peoples’ backpacks. You get a couple here – one in the spacecraft, and one in the little buggy. The buggy is minimal, but it is cute that the back of the spaceship opens up to reveal a little ramp to drive the buggy up into a small cargo area for stowage. It locks in with a single jumper tile stud making it swooshable but still easy to liberate.

I don’t actually recall this scene from the movie so it’s not a particularly memorable one if it is in there, but it is a bit more of a story to play around with than just a spaceship on it’s own. I guess my summary is: cute spaceship and a handful of classic space parts for not much money.

Leave a comment