71024 Disney CMF – Series 2

Enlight515

In my now routine (I need to stop pretending) impulse shop of LEGO in Woolies, I picked up a Disney collectable minifig blind polybag. I guess I’m not a big enough Disney fan for this to have been interesting to me at the original retail price, but they had three boxes of them at 45% off. If this is an indication that these mini-figs haven’t been as popular as anticipated, that’d be disappointing for LEGO as there is a lot of special moulds involved for heads and hair, in addition to whatever licensing they are paying Disney.

Mine was one of the Chip ‘n’ Dale squirrels. It’s fine; it has the moulded head, although they cut a corner by just printing his tail on the back of the torso instead of including one (as they did for the ducks).

Screen Shot 2019-10-08 at 8.57.24 am

In fact, one of the Huey/Dewey/Louie ducks would have been my preferred wins. Naturally these are the rarest figures in the box. I find it odd that LEGO, who are quite the ethical company when you look at their stance on war toys and sustainability, persist with this loot box style gambling when marketing to children. They apparently didn’t do this for CMF 19, so perhaps they are moving away from it, or perhaps it’s tied to something contractual with Disney.

nevilleMy squirrel is holding an acorn that includes a part I hadn’t seen before. Turns out it’s the unprinted version of a mandrake head from the Neville Longbottom in last year’s Harry Potter CMFs. I’m not immediately seeing a lot of uses for this part, but interesting anyway. I was also surprised to see that kids’ legs in this reddish brown hadn’t appeared before. The colour of these two squirrels is  the main way to tell them apart, so that was probably an important decision, and perhaps why there was no money left over at the price point to do the tail properly.

 

One thought on “71024 Disney CMF – Series 2

  1. Pingback: 71024 Disney CMF – Series 2, again | Beam 'n' Pin

Leave a comment